Return to bibleworks.com
How Do I Uninstall the BibleWorks Program?
Author: KB Admin Reference Number: AA-02757 Views: 12261 Created: 2012-08-05 19:00 Last Updated: 2018-08-15 10:46 0 Rating/ 1 Voters

We recommend that you uninstall a prior version of BibleWorks before installing a newer version.

If you have notes or any user created material saved in the prior version of BibleWorks you can back those up prior to or after you install in Windows. Click here for instructions on where to find the files that users typically will wish to save between installations.

1. Uninstalling BibleWorks from Windows

You may uninstall the program by inserting the Program Disc 1 for BibleWorks 5, 6, 7, 8 or 9.  For BibleWorks 10, insert your USB drive if you have one.   If the Install/Reconfigure menu doesn't show immediately, navigate to and run the setup.exe file in your BibleWorks folder (usually c:\Program Files\BibleWorks n, where n is the version of your BibleWorks program).  For a downloaded installation of BibleWorks 10, bring up the Install/Reconfigure menu with the instructions here.

From the Install/Reconfigure menu, choose "Install/Reconfigure" and, on the next screen, the REMOVE option. 

Restart your computer as prompted after the REMOVE option is complete.

IMPORTANT: IF YOU ARE UNINSTALLING TO FIX A PROBLEM WITH BIBLEWORKS CRASHING YOU SHOULD BACKUP, THEN DELETE THE BIBLEWORKS FOLDER AT THIS POINT. The folder will be in your c:program files (x86) or c:program files folder when you open File Explorer with the Windows key + the E key. When you uninstall BibleWorks in Windows, the uninstall process does not delete the BibleWorks folder. This is a failsafe to keep users from losing notes and other custom files they have added to BibleWorks, so that they can subsequently transfer these files to new installations.

If you have saved notes, searches or color files, please be prepared to back up the BibleWorks 10 folder that remains after you uninstall and/or the individual files and folders that you might need.  You can back up this folder simply by renaming it before you reinstall.  This FAQ indicates some of the user created files and locations that users typically will wish to save in-between installations.

2. Uninstalling BibleWorks from Mac

To uninstall BibleWorks 9 or 10 from a Mac on which it was installed using the Mac Installer, click here for instructions.

3. What if I cannot uninstall BibleWorks from Windows or have already installed a new version?

It is possible (though not recommended) to install a later version of BibleWorks without uninstalling the former version, but in most cases this will remove the ability to uninstall the prior version. Because some installation files have the same names as those for previous versions, running the BibleWorks installer may overwrite the files necessary for uninstalling an earlier version.

If you have already installed BibleWorks 10 and have not already uninstalled BibleWorks 9 or a prior version, the uninstall program used in steps 1 and 2 above will not be available to you. In this case, you can remove the former version of BibleWorks by deleting its folder (BibleWorks n, or similarly named folder in your Program Files or Program Files (x86) folder) after you have backed up all the files you wish to save, as noted above.

4.  How do I uninstall BibleWorks Add-on Modules?

To uninstall BibleWorks add-on modules, please use the instructions here.
.

Last Update - RG/June 16, 2018